BRAND’S® Essence of Chicken

31 Oct

My hubby sure knows how to describe me best. You are a cat, he says.  Fearless, curious and often procrastinate. Indeed, procrastination is my forte. Take this post for example, I should have done it up upon completing the BRAND’S® 14 day challenge two weeks ago but I have been putting it off till now because I couldn’t think of a good opening to introduce the subject: BRAND’S® Essence of Chicken. It is perhaps, the only health supplement that I have been so faithfully consuming over the past decades and I am just not prepared to start off a post with, “I have received xxxx for review” and then copy the whole content from the fact sheet before ending with a few praises to please the sponsors.  Sure, some PR companies like it but I prefer to have my say, in my way 🙂

Anyway, let’s get back to BRAND’S® Essence of Chicken.


My early memories of these little bottle of tasty wonders was how mum would warmed it up by putting the bottle into a bowl of hot water and made us drink on days when we were having a test, having examinations or taking part in competitions, sports day and other important events. I was probably too young to understand the rationale of that warming method or know about the benefits of the essence but I liked the taste enough to bring the tradition into adulthood and picking up a dozen of the essence has become our family’s routine when we do our rounds of grocery shopping. Apart from consuming it as a health supplement, it is also our perk-me-up fuel on haggard days, the energy boost in the morning after a hangover, the keep-me-awake punch when burning mid-night oil, the emergency brake to stop the bugs from acting up and very often, it serves as a cooking ingredient as well. Frog legs porridge tastes better with a bottle of BRAND’S® Essence of Chicken, so does live prawns marinated in BRAND’S® Essence of Chicken and double boiled herbal chicken with BRAND’S® Essence of Chicken and the list goes on.

The challenge has come in at a good time when my body and mind was at the lowest point. I was totally stressed and burnt out coping with tight deadlines and looking after my super dependent mum and also preparing three whole meals separately for mum and grandma. Grandma being a vegetarian by religion, is rigid with her diet and her food has to be prepared and cooked separately from us using a different set of utensils and strictly no microwave, oven, steamer as such co-use equipments and could contaminated the “purity” of her food.  Not only that, her cups and dishes have to be washed and dried separately as well. The worst thing is that she is extremely picky over outside food and she has to eat at every two-hour interval round the clock.  It would be easier to cook a large pot for her to nibble throughout the day but I can’t bear to let her eat the same food for every meal so ‘d be frantically rushing home by mid day to cook, go out again and dash back to prepare dinner. By the time I am all done with the last round of cooking for supper, I would be totally exhausted and worn out.

Though I have been drinking BRAND’S® Essence of Chicken regularly, this is, however, the first time that I have had it for 14 consecutive days straight.


Day One of the Challenge:  Dragging myself out of bed feeling tired and fatigue, I thought I could be dozing off during the monotonous and unproductive weekly meeting as usual but I didn’t. Instead, I have managed to stay wide eyed and paid attention throughout the session without a single yawn.  Good job! I gave myself a pat on the shoulder.
Day Four of the Challenge: It was the time of the month again but somehow there wasn’t too much cramps and aches that I have anticipated.  The little clots of pain every now and then did not dampen my spirits and I was exceptionally upbeat and focused that day.
Day Eight of the Challenge: Hitting the sack at 2am, I sprang out of the bed at the break of dawn to pick up a client from the airport and was being complimented on how fresh and energetic I was in the early morning.  Unlike the client who was in a bad shape after a long journey, I was indeed feeling great and bursting with energy.
Day Twelve of the Challenge: After a long and hectic day dashing around like a headless chicken, I mindlessly joined a neighbor for a night run and was extremely pleased to clock 5km in 20minutes.  Nothing fantastic but definitely one of my best timing by far and I jolly well know that I wouldn’t have made it without the last twelve days of continuous nourishment from BRAND’S® Essence of Chicken.
Day Fourteen of the Challenge: Same skincare, same amount of sleep and no change of diet but my skin has improved. The signs of tiredness have banished, the irritably patch of dryness has vivaciously disappeared, my complexion has become less sallow and I like my new found radiance! This perhaps, testified again that beauty begin from within.

My conclusion: In life, sometimes you need help and help, sometimes is only a bottle away. To be at your best to face the daily demands of life and staying bright and alert, simply reach out for the genie, drink a bottle of BRAND’S® Essence of Chicken everyday. 

Leave a Reply

