Golden Village Gold Class

18 Jun

Yeah! A pair of Gold Class Tickets from my eldest sister-in-law!

Thank you sis!

It has been a long time since we last patronized Gold Class at GV Grand but we have yet try out Gold Class at GV Vivocity so this pair of tickets come in really at the right time on my birthday week for our ‘virgin’ patronage and enjoy a little luxury at the Gold Class at GV Vivocity.

Hmm…so let’s check today’s movie schedule!

OMG! Why only 3 films available?

We have already watched X-Men First Class and I know that hubby would definitely choose  Green Lantern over Mr Popper’s Penguins. But I want to watch the penguins play and Jim Carrey to entertain me while I cuddle on the comfy recliner!

Sigh! Tough choice. Or perhaps if GV allow a single entry for Gold Class, we should watch our desire movie on our own 🙂

 

**********

Update – Mr Popper’s Penguins

Hubby had read this post without me knowing and was really sweet to insist us watching Mr Popper’s Penguins.  To make sure that we could have the seats for the ten o’clock show on my birthday, he again insisted that we make two trips to Vivo City on Sunday; one trip to exchange the vouchers for the tickets and come back later to watch the show as vouchers are not accepted for online reservations.

In the end, we went down early to book the show and hang around the mall till show time. That saved us the hassle of making multiple trips but cost a little bomb on parking charges instead. Besides that, wasting time away and idling at the mall were just painfully boring!

As I mentioned earlier, the last time that we have patronized Gold Class at Great World City was probably years ago and I could not recall how it looks like anymore. In comparison to its competitor,  Shaw Premiere at Nex, the reclining armchairs at the Gold Class Vivo City are really huge and comfy!  Well, I have to say that Shaw Premiere isn’t bad either and my two visits were really pleasant but I couldn’t tolerate the squeaking sound coming from my neighboring patron’s leather recliner every time he moved his body during my last visit.

Anyway, back to Mr Popper’s Penguins.

I have always love comedies and Jim Carrey is my very favorite comedian. Who can forget that plastic face from The Mask or the pathetic guy who was born and destined to live a reel life or the multiple personalities psychotic in Me, Myself and Irene? Jim Carrey’s shows never fail send me rolling and laughing off my chair. But as I watched Mr Popper’s Penguins, I can’t help to think that age has caught and stars do grow old too. Sure, the exaggerated comical expression and joker’s face is still funny, but Jim Carrey is looking a little tired and trying too hard being the master of the slapstick.

Nonetheless, with the six cute birds and the underlining family message in the film, Mr Popper’s Penguins is an edu-taining movie that worth at least a three and a half stars rating.

 

 

Leave a Reply

